Dr. Giedrius Viliūnas

Adviser to the Office of the Committee for the Future of the Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania

Dr. Giedrius Viliūnas has been previously holding positions of the Director of the Government Strategic Analysis Center (STRATA), Vice-Minister of Education and Science, Secretary of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Lithuania, Vice-Rector of Mykolas Romeris University, was lecturing at Mykolas Romeris University and Vilnius University. His areas of expertise include strategic governance, strategic foresight, research and higher education policy, history of Lithuanian literature. 

Committee for the Future of the Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania

The Committee for the Future (CFF) of the Seimas (the Parliament) of the Republic of Lithuania was established on 23 December 2020 following the need to shape a strategic culture of thinking about the future of Lithuania, as a basis for policy areas and key initiatives in main policy areas, including the integration of strategic foresight into the political decision-making process. Article 442 of the Statute of the Seimas provides that the composition of the CFF shall be based on the principle of proportional representation of the Seimas political groups. Article 581 of the Statute of the Seimas provides for eight main areas of activity of the Committee for the Future. They aim at coordination of the process of preparation of Lithuania’s long-term vision as well as implementation control of long-term progress strategies. Within the remit of the committee is as well to prepare and discuss modelling of the future development of society and the state, development of innovations and technological progress, emigration and re-emigration processes and their impact on the development of society, draft laws and other legal acts regulating state modernization and strategic reforms. 

For  the period of 2020-2024, the CCF has 19 members of the Seimas, representing all parliamentary political groups. Professor Raimundas Lopata, a representative of the Liberals Movement Political Group, kas been elected as a chairman of the CFF.